This includes info about cleaning, sanitizing, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.
Chotto Matte Soho
What is Nikkei?
Years ago Japanese immigrants travelled to Peru for work and could not find their authentic ingredients; to overcome this they used local ingredients to substitute. Nikkei was born.
What is Chotto Matte
It is the experience.
Our professional staff know every ingredient on all dishes and how to best serve you the customer. Added to which it is the Chotto Matte way that no GM no MSG, no artificial flavors are used. Product quality is key, it is our mission to provide the best experience possible.
“Let the waiter do it for you. They will work around your likes and allergies to craft the best experience possible just for you.”
Owner and Restauranteur
Tel: 0207 042 7171
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Clean menu provided to every guest
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
sea bass, cherry tomatoes, jalapeo, coriander, yuzu truffle soy
Crispy Pork Belly
spicy anticucho, nashi pear, yellow tomato salsa
sea bass, salmon, romano pepper, lime soy
They forgot the sauce to the main, didnt apologiser. The pork was way over cooked. £75 for a set menu....the first dinner out since quarantine. Bitterly disappointed as I’ve had good meals there before.
The food was amazing and so was the ambience. They have quite low seats/tables which was a bit uncomfortable.
Dear Wanwansara, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Chotto Matte. We will make sure to pass on your comments to our team and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Team Chotto Matte
Amazing food and service as always!
Thanks for the kind words AmitV! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
The food quality has been dripping - menu has changed for the worse, food not as good and prices have gone up. I have to say the service was very good and polite, staff was wonderful. Stop changing the menu’s and removing all the good items!!
Delicious food and cocktails, pleasant atmosphere and superb service! Loved all the dishes we ordered: various sushi (maki + crispy sushi platter), cassava wedges, octopus, black cod and ceviche - so well cooked and fine flavours! Our waiter Miguel was very attentive, polite and kind, checking in at times to see if we were pleased and needed anything. As recommended by him, we had the salted caramel chocolate fondant for dessert - incredible, including the quality ice cream with it! Indeed recommended - and also chose the Peruvian cream - very good but a bit too rich as we were already quite full! Overall an amazing experience, on ambience and food level, and human level through the service received. Thanks Miguel and Chotto Matte! :)
Thank you very much for your lovely review LauraA, your kind words have been passed along to Miguel! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Chotto Matte Team
Booked for a special occasion, seated in a noisy area where I was knocked by a waiter. Waited 40 minutes to order drinks, course on the sharing menu was forgotten so we took this as a takeaway instead. Food was delicious but would not come here on a special occasion again as the ambience and experience was not relaxing or special.
Thank you for your review NehaS. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food however, sorry to hear that the overall experience fell short. Your feedback is important to us and so I would kindly ask for you to get in touch with us so that we can follow up Chotto Matte Team
Food as always was exceptional. Service however is always not so great. If I hadn’t been before I would think they had issues because of just opening after lockdown, but it’s always slow, getting things wrong etc... if you can deal with that the food is sort it and the main reason I keep going back? The yellowtail is phenomenal and the tasting menus are always really good. (Would recommend the Nikkei III)
Thank you very much for your feedback, delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food however, sorry to hear that the service you received fell short of expectations. We did experience some technical glitches which unfortunately had a knock on effect to our service. Please do let us know when you rebook, we very much look forward to seeing you again soon! Chotto Matte Team
Great food available, and was different. The service needs to improve but to be fair it was their first opening since cornovirus and they did reduce the bill and apologised.
Dear Aaron, Thank you for your feedback. We will make sure to pass your comments on to our team and ensure additional training is implemented to improve our service. We hope to see you again soon, Team Chotto Matte
Food was amazing, usually my favourite restaurant in London but on this particular visit the service was very poor.
Thank you for your review LuciaS. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food however, sorry to hear that the service your received on Saturday fell short. Please do let us know when you rebook, we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the usual standard of service you have experienced with us previously. Chotto Matte Team
So incredibly disappointed. My favourite restaurant and was so excited for the reopening. However I am now not sure if I will return. We had a two hour time slot and eventually got our mains after 1hr 55 mins when there were people there waiting for our table. Ordered a sharing menu and a number of the dishes never arrived. Had to wait 50 minutes for drinks to arrive which we could see sitting on the side for ages. This wasn’t due to the restaurant being busy, more the staff who clearly were all new did not know what was going on due to not being trained. We ended up having to leave with our mains in a paper bag and when we got home some were missing. The menu online has changed a lot and there are no sides on their new menu which seems quite strange. The staff were lovely and tried, and in terms of safety it was brilliant - tables spread out, staff with masks on, hand sanitiser available etc. Really disappointed, just hope in time it returns to being the outstanding restaurant it once was
Thank you very much for your feedback EmmaB. We are very sorry to hear that you were let down on Saturday, we did experience some technical glitches which sadly caused some big delays, we are also taking menu feedback seriously and will reflect this as best we can in the coming weeks. We very much hope to welcome you back to enjoy the usual standard of service you have experienced with us previously. Chotto Matte Team
Half of the order came out, then the 2nd half came out around 45mins-1hr of us sitting down (bare in mind tables that came in after us had finished eating and left and we was still waiting on food). When the rest of the food finally came out the same dishes we had already ordered had come out (slow cooked beef actually came out 4 times!). The fire alarm was continuously going off with the room filling with smoke. Completely understand it was the first day opening but nothing was offered to us. When ordering drinks we had to keep reminding staff we was waiting on drinks to. Chotto Matte was always my favourite place to eat however this certainly isn’t the case anymore.
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience fell short on Saturday. We did experience some technical glitches which unfortunately had a knock on effect to our service. Your feedback is important to us and so I would kindly ask you to get in touch with us so that we can follow up and seek to rectify things. Chotto Matte Team
Great food and drink as always. Despite the restrictions of Covid we felt comfortable and had a great evening
Thank you AmanB! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Chotto Matte is a cool and interesting place. However, we’ve had a slightly negative experience due to my husband’s allergies. The manager assured us he is aware of the allergies and dishes will be adapted but twice we were brought dishes that he absolutely couldn’t have and if not my nature to double check everything, the evening would have ended up us going to a hospital. A few servers had absolutely no idea what they were bringing us. A cross contamination did occur and he had to find a pharmacy as he was experiencing a minor reaction. On the whole, everyone was nice and polite and my husband’s food was taken off the bill but it was hard to enjoy the evening after the pharmacy. We didn’t eat half of the remaining food from the tasting menu, which we did take away. And we later realised that we were never offered or packed the dessert that was part of the tasting menu. The ambience and music was very nice! And when leaving, the manager apologised again. On the whole, it’s a fun and lovely place but maybe not very well suited for people with allergies.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very sorry to read of your's and your husband's experience with us on Saturday. I would greatly appreciate if you might be able to drop me a line to discuss your experience further. Chotto Matte Team
Server went back and forth to the kitchen, many order mistakes and took very long. However, the food was delicious.
First customer since the restaurant closed down on July 4th. Got there at 12:15, ordered 6 dishes by 12:25. Only ended up getting 2 dishes by 2pm. We genuinely had a flight to catch, and had to leave the restaurant after spending ~2 hours, and being hungrier than before.
The waitress was a disgrace to the place, no apology no nothing. Instead she literally slammed the bill on the table and was very rude. The manage was apologetic and being closed for so long things go wrong, we understand that things can go wrong. The waitress had way too much attitude. Even thought those 2 dishes were amazing, would not recommend simply because of this one waitress.
Thank you for your review Akashm. Your feedback is very important to us and we would like to investigate this further with our team immediately. I would greatly appreciate if you might get in touch with us so that we can follow up right away. Chotto Matte Team
Had a very nice Sushi Set Menu for £22 per head. Plus order some addition Dragon Rolls, I am told the restaurant is normally much busier being in Soho but due to the Corona Virus situation, people are staying away which is such a shame for those working in catering and hospitality. All together an 8 / 10 and will visit again once they re-open after things have calmed down.
Thank you for your review earlier this year, we very much look forward to seeing you again soon!
I would definitely recommend the brunch. The bottomless cocktails were varied and the food really lovely. It makes a change to the usual brunch in London at the moment! DJ was also a really great touch
Hi KatieB, Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we hope to see you in the future. Warm regards, Team Chotto Matte
Everything was amazing
I look forward to going back
Hi OliverW, Thank you so much for your fantastic comments. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you and warm regards, Team Chotto Matte
Food was fantastic as ever and team were very friendly. It was quiet for a Wednesday probably reflecting current health concerns. I really recommend Chotto Matte and the pudding on the set menu was sublime.
Dear JamieDS, Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Chotto Matte. We will make sure to pass on the comments to our team and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you and warm regards, Team Chotto Matte
Terrible all round. Can’t understand why people say it’s good. Won’t go back
Poor service, overpriced food and music too loud.
Great for Pisco Sours and good food. Always been a good experience here
Dear Sumangala, Thank you so much for your great review. We hope you will visit us again soon. Regards , Chotto Matte team
Very poor service.