This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitizing, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

Rathskeller

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
60 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary German
We have one major focus: the popular German street food - schnitzel. We also have wursts made by local German meat market legend, Binkert's (Rosedale, MD). Other partnerships include a Black Forest Ice Cream Sandwich by Scoop & Paddle (Clarksville, MD), and lemon lavender edelweiss hand soap for our bathrooms from Buttercup Soaperie (Old Ellicott City, MD).

We use fresh meats and vegetables, never frozen. The pretzels are made by hand by an Army vet who learned to make pretzels in Germany after his service. The sauces are made from scratch. Our cocktail program features both popular and obscure German spirits. The wine program consists of small-production family-owned wineries in Germany and Austria. Beer offerings include a healthy diet of imported German beers and local breweries who make German-style brews.

Join us inside our cozy beer hall, outside on our biergarten, or for take out or delivery! Thanks for being a part of the #schnitzelgang.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
What 60 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
M
Mare
Baltimore
10 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love this place! The food is fantastic and the service is fabulous. Very safe/all Covid protocols in place. The schnitzel is authentic and they have an amazing deal on wine! Can’t wait to return!

CP
vipClaudiaP
Washington DC
31 reviews
Dined on October 14, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience5

Menu is very limited. Potato pancakes were awesome but entrees are only
Schnitzel or wurst. Schnitzel had a weird spice ( probably authentic) also we got a pretzel and it was cold. Nice atmosphere but probably won’t go back.

Rathskeller
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Claudia, Thanks for your feedback. Best regards, Will

Report
TK
vipTerryK
Washington DC
57 reviews
Dined on October 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I will be travelling to Germany next year and wanted to find some authentic German food to get accustomed to what menu items I may want to order when I get there. The food at Rathskeller was authentic German and delicious. The service was great. All around a pleasant dining experience, especially if you want authentic German food.

Rathskeller
Responded 5 days ago

Wow Terry! Thanks so much for the kind words. Jealous of your upcoming trip to Deutschland! Prost, Will

Report
M
Mare
Baltimore
11 reviews
Dined on September 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Fantastic food and wonderful service! We ordered traditional meals - Pork schnitzel and German slaw or potato cakes - and everything was spot on. We cleaned out plates / which something I probably haven’t done in 15 years.

All Covid precautions were taken and the tables were spaced far apart on the patio.

They are running a wine special now and it’s a great deal.

Can’t recommend highly enough. We will be back soon!

Rathskeller
Responded on September 30, 2020

Thanks so much for the kind words! We look forward to seeing you next time! Prost, Will

Report
NK
vipNicoleK
Baltimore
5 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had an amazing dinner out at Rathskeller. We were supposed to be heading to Oktoberfest in Germany next week which was unfortunately cancelled due to covid so we decided to have a local German experience. We were extremely impressed with the Covid adjustments the restaurant made to make people feel comfortable and sanitary. It was our first dinner out in 6 months and we both left the restaurant on a high. All of the food was delicious, we had pretzel and potato cakes and different schnitzels. The patio was stunning and the ambiance was perfect with the live music. Thank you to the staff for giving us a chance to have such a wonderful German experience to replace our trip that we were devastated to miss. We will definitely be repeat customers. #SchnitzelGang for life.

Rathskeller
Responded on September 23, 2020

Thanks so much Nicole! We love having you be a part of the #SchnitzelGang :) Prost, Will

Report
G
Gail
Baltimore
3 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Rathskeller is one of our favorite places to dine. We love schnitzel and the Rathskeller has some of the best schnitzel that can rival my German mother’s schnitzel and spaetzle. Wunderbar!

Rathskeller
Responded on September 23, 2020

Thanks so much Gail!! Really appreciate your support - we'll see you next time! Prost, Will

Report
JS
JeremyS
Baltimore
12 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

This was our second visit here, but first since new management took over. We sat outside with our requested reservation. The staff was quick and attentive. The food was all delicious, well cooked and correctly made. We will be back.

Rathskeller
Responded on September 23, 2020

Thanks a ton Jeremy! Really glad you liked your visit. We can't wait til next time!

Report
CG
vipCarolG
Denver
19 reviews
Dined on September 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was delicious and our lovely waitress was awesome!

Rathskeller
Responded on September 10, 2020

Thanks so much Carol! We look forward to having you back! Prost, Will

Report
RK
ReneeK
Baltimore
4 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent food and very attentive staff. Will definitely be back!

Rathskeller
Responded on August 28, 2020

Thanks so much Renee! We're glad you had a wonderful experience. We'll see you next time :) Prost, Will

Report
m
michaelb
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The pork schnitzel was tender and the crust tasty and crunchy. My friends had a variety of sausages and gave them high marks. Nice selection of (mainly German) beer. We sat on the terrace, which is beautifully designed. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. Will definitely come again.

Rathskeller
Responded on August 28, 2020

Wow Michael! Thanks so much for the very kind words. We'll see you next time! Prost, Will

Report
KM
KevinM
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place. Binkerts sausages great german and German-American beers

Rathskeller
Responded on August 28, 2020

Thanks a ton Kevin! Glad we were able to deliver a great experience! Prost, Will

Report
OG
vipOttawaGirl
Baltimore
27 reviews
Dined on August 18, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

My colleagues and I tried out Rathskeller, and everything was delicious! We ordered the crab dip pretzel, chicken schnitzel, and currywurst with a side of roasted broccoli.

The crab dip pretzel was shareable and tasty.

The chicken schnitzel was quite big for lunch and quite good.

The currywurst was delicious with subtle curry (but not spicy) flavours.

The roasted broccoli was a bit on the sour side, but it was still very good.

I would highly recommend the Rathskeller sauce for dipping!

Rathskeller
Responded on August 22, 2020

Hi! Thanks so much for the support and the kind words! We look forward to having you back. Prost, Will

Report
MT
MichelleT
1 review
Dined on July 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Rathskeller was great! Service was great and the food was even better. We had schnitzels and they were delicious. I recommend getting the curry ketchup, it’s the best. We had several people from the staff stop by and check on us. We sat outside and it was great! I love their patio. Tables are distanced and I did see the staff sanitize everything (including chairs) once other tables left. Their beer selection is also great! We will definitely be back!

Rathskeller
Responded on August 6, 2020

Wow! Thank you so much for the review. I'll pass it on to the team so they know to keep up the good work!

Report
RG
RitaG
Baltimore
4 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

This was our first visit on a Friday night - during restaurant week - and bouncing back from COVID closure. The only reason I gave them 4 stars on service was they were still trying to get their new routine in place. BUT I caveat that with we chose to go on a perfect storm night of Friday-restaurant week-post covid. We sat in a repurposed "shed" on the patio which had a nice atmosphere and a very good musician. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend this quaint spot hidden away in Elkridge MD.

Rathskeller
Responded on August 6, 2020

Thanks so much Rita! The Jailhouse is my favorite table on our patio. Glad you liked it in there!

Report
MO
MichaelO
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on March 10, 2020
Overall1food2service3ambience1

Walking into the restaurant there were drops of blood on the stairs and the entryway. I informed the waitress and she said someone had cut their hand. I said she needed to have that cleaned up. After a less than mediocre meal, when we left the restaurant the blood was still there. A birthday dinner ruined, $80 spent on a vet bad evening. Too loud in the restaurant to have a conversation. We will never go there again.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on March 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The decor is beautifully done. It’s modern with traditional German touches. Spacious. Great privacy between booths. Service elegant. Menu concise. Food delicious. Great spot for a romantic dinner.

n
vipnessab
Baltimore
16 reviews
Dined on March 6, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

The place looks great inside and it was nice and fairly quiet. It’s very small and the ambiance was nice. For the most part, the food was great(the side with my $25 salmon was cold, and the skin was not crispy, but both did taste good) although it was a little overpriced. Service was fantastic- everyone was very friendly.

BP
vipBeckyP
Baltimore
9 reviews
Dined on March 6, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

The location is out of the way. The building is beautiful! Tricky to find the front door since it's in the basement. Not a lot of seating. Too much exposure to the kitchen when in the dining room. The light from the kitchen is bright and harsh while the dining room is dark. The menu is limited but everything we ate was tasty. The cocktails looked more complicated than they needed to be. Service was pleasant and quick. Overall a nice dining experience.

LC
vipLCMD
Baltimore
10 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience3

This place lived up to the good reviews we have been hearing. My husband thought the pork chop was the best he has ever had and this is a man who eats out a lot for work travel. The sauerbraten was tender and the sauce was spicy and flavorful with dumplings that were more mashed potatoes than dumpling but still tasty. The cocktails were so good especially the pear one and the dunkel beer was very smooth. I would have liked the Brussels sprouts to be a bit crispier and the pretzel to be rolled more consistently with fewer thin spots but both were still good. It was a great meal. Highly recommend.

MT
MariaT
Baltimore
4 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Service was delayed, but it suited this party of 8 on a Saturday night
Food was delicious, pork chop was divine!
Chicken schnitzel always a hit.
Noise level was high with a full dining room.
Bartenders are impeccable in prep and presentation.
Overall it was a successful evening.

JB
JessicaB
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, great service. We will be back again soon!

BG
BeverlyG
1 review
Dined on February 23, 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience3

I was hoping that the Rathskeller would prove to be authentic German and was disappointed. Their “schnitzel “ was made with chicken and having lived in a Germany you don’t find chicken schnitzel. The potato pancakes were deep fried to a mahogany brown, and the eggs underdone. I was disappointed.

Rathskeller
Responded on February 29, 2020

Thanks for your feedback.

Report
A
Andrea
Pittsburgh
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The food was fantastic but some things were a bit overpriced.. $10 for 4 tiny stuffed mushrooms. We will be back though!

Rathskeller
Responded on February 29, 2020

Thanks so much Andrea! I'm really glad you had a great time. $10 for 4 tiny stuffed mushrooms do seem pricey. We'll get that fixed. We'll have a new menu soon and we can't wait for you to try it!

Report
DS
DylanS
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on February 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I took my wife for her birthday and her parents for their anniversary (yes, my wife was born on my in-laws anniversary), along with our 3 young children. We were a large and raucous group, but they could not have been more accommodating and welcoming.

On top of that, the food and cocktails were simply outstanding. This is a true gem in tiny Elkridge and definitely worthy of your business.

Rathskeller
Responded on February 29, 2020

Dylan, thank you for the kind words. We're really, really glad you all had a great time. Though, your group was anything but raucous ;). Your girls were very well behaved!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Baltimore
6 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Delicious food. Cool ambiance. Gorgeous renovated building.

Rathskeller
Responded on February 29, 2020

Thanks so much for the kind words!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great experience. Excellent service.

Rathskeller
Responded on February 29, 2020

Thanks so much! Glad you had a great time.

Report
TM
ThomasM
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

We went here to try their German dishes but opted instead for a Valentines Day surf and turf special. Crab cakes were great but the filet mignon was overcooked . Potato cakes and lobster bisque were excellent. Service was friendly and very attentive. Wine and beer selection was very good. Ambiance is a bit sterile.

Rathskeller
Responded on February 29, 2020

Thanks for joining us on Valentine's Day! We appreciate the feedback. Don't forget to come back and try the German dishes!

Report
MG
MeganG
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We really enjoyed the live music, our food, and the ambiance.

Rathskeller
Responded on February 29, 2020

Thanks Megan for the kind words. We're really glad we delivered a great experience for you.

Report
1
vip1234
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on February 13, 2020
Overall4food2service4ambience4

The food seemed different since the first week it opened. The first week it opened the food was amazing. This time the food seemed to be missing things or over cooked in some cases and undercooked in others.

Rathskeller
Responded on February 29, 2020

Darn! We're really disappointed to hear that our food was not up to snuff. I will make sure to forward your feedback to the kitchen so they can improve on the inconsistency.

Report
DJ
DavidJ
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Food was very good, especially the Brussels sprouts. The beer selection was good. The menu was very limited and didn’t feel very German.
Service was good but we felt rushed to order our entrees when we wanted to enjoy our drinks.
We will return, it is new and hopefully the menu will mature.

D
David
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on February 7, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Sweet spot. Good ambiance and good service. It was a little pricier than we thought it would be, but all in all we liked our experience.

Rathskeller
Responded on February 29, 2020

Thanks so much for the review!

Report
BV
BruceVA
Baltimore
3 reviews
Dined on February 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went on a Thursday night so it wasn't so busy, but they had a guy playing some pleasant live guitar jazz in the corner. The appetizers were great, especially the Crispy Brussel Sprouts. I ordered Sauerbraten; it was superb -- tender and juicy and came with an awesome savory sauce! The Chicken Schnitzel was also juicy and delicious! Their luscious Blackberry cheesecake was the perfect finishing touch. We will be back again soon!

Rathskeller
Responded on February 29, 2020

Thanks so much Bruce! We're glad we were able to deliver an awesome experience!

Report
GL
GloriaL
Baltimore
6 reviews
Dined on February 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Dinner with friends was just right. Attentive but not rushed service. Lovely cocktails. Unique spin on the tasty sauerbraten. And the surprise of the music—really nice vibe and we could still talk to catch up with friends. Love this gem of a place!

Rathskeller
Responded on February 10, 2020

Thanks so much Gloria!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We had a great time. Staff were very professional. Food perfectly seasoned and plated beautifully. Looking forward to going back.

Rathskeller
Responded on February 10, 2020

Thanks! We look forward to your return!

Report
CB
CatherineB
Baltimore
3 reviews
Dined on January 31, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Good food and nice ambiance!

Rathskeller
Responded on February 10, 2020

Thanks Catherine!

Report
SW
SueW
1 review
Dined on January 30, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience4

The atmosphere was nice. The hostess and waitress were super friendly! Music was nice. The cocktails were good abut the food just ok. The risoto bite appetizer was great, flavorful and crisp. The meat inside the kebab was a bit dry and I had to ask for more sauce to offset the dryness. The chocolate cake desert was awful. It was flavorless and dry. Tjhe waitress did take money off my bill to compensate for the desert. I was super disappointed and would only go back again to have drinks at the bar .

Rathskeller
Responded on February 10, 2020

Thanks for the feedback!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on January 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I really enjoyed the meal. The Brussels were delicious. Pretzel was amazing. Really recommend this restaurant.

Rathskeller
Responded on February 10, 2020

Thanks a ton!

Report
ML
MichelleL
Baltimore
3 reviews
Dined on January 26, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The Rathskeller has only been opened for a few months but they have a bright future ahead. We visited on a Sunday night during Restaurant Week. We had a reservation so we were sat fairly quickly. Our server was attentive and friendly but unfortunately the kitchen was very slow. I ordered the Restaurant Week special (3-courses) and the others ordered off the menu. The food was all delicious but it just came SLOWLY out of the kitchen. We will definitely be back and just chalked this up to an unexpected Sunday rush and some new menu items. The server treated us to the house specialty German soft pretzel while we waited as a bonus!

Rathskeller
Responded on January 30, 2020

We did have a very unexpected Sunday but that's really no excuse. I've forwarded the info to the kitchen and you should see improvement! Thanks for the constructive feedback.

Report
j
jamesb
1 review
Dined on January 26, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience4

The whole experience was odd. The cowboy pork chop was amazing.... but it was to come with red cabbage. my wife and i did not notice at the time; but the server never mentioned this. Another table complained as we left that the side was not there; and that was when it clicked. The service was slow, but as we were enjoying our conversation i did not mind much. It was the set menu for restaurant week, but they were out of one of the deserts (we were there for a 6pm reservation, so feels early to run out). so we were both stuck with the same desert that was ok, but nothing to write home about. it was strange since they had other deserts on their menu for a similar price (but not part of the set menu) that i would think they could have subbed out one of them.

I think this was just the server dropping the ball- and all of these would have been easy to resolve had everyone been on the ball. tell me you are out of a side that comes with the dish= and literally offer almost any other side- and i would have been fine with it. That is really the only thing holding it back. the rest of the food was good but felt overpriced ($8 for a soft pretzel seems a few bucks too much)

Rathskeller
Responded on January 30, 2020

Hi James, You are totally correct that we should have communicated to you that we were out of a side. I have forwarded this info to our management team and you should see significant improvement moving forward. Thank you so much for the constructive feedback.

Report
J
vipJody
Baltimore
8 reviews
Dined on January 23, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Amazing food. Restaurant week menu was great!

Rathskeller
Responded on January 30, 2020

Thanks so much Jody! Glad you had a great time.

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Rathskeller using the Order Online button. Rathskeller also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (410) 796-1530.

Rathskeller is rated 4.4 stars by 60 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.