The Potting Shed
Food is always good. Service is always a bit arrogant and slow. Wait staff don't check on your table regularly if you need refills for drinks, waitress could not explain portion size difference between small and large, it took forever to get someone's attention to even just ask for the bill. We ordered mussels, when the dish arrived half of the shells were empty. The waiter was not particularly apologetic, but organised a fresh batch. You feel like you're bothering them if you ask for anything. Not very welcoming or warm staff. Won't be going back for a while, if I'm going to spend a decent amount of money on a meal I expect to be treated like a valued guest at least, rather than just another group to serve quickly and get rid of.
Hi Sandra, Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your visit at The Potting Shed. I am sorry to hear you felt let down by the service. We always endeavour to explain the portion sizes as best as possible to our guests, so I am sorry that you felt there was a communication breakdown. We would love to be given another opportunity to show you the service we customarily pride ourselves on, if you would like to get back in touch. Kindest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
The service, ambience and drinks is what I keep going back for.... The menu is very limited and not at all exciting! I ordered a Seafood Curry, it was pretty ordinary!
The Host and the lovely lady who served us were super amazing!!!!! Loved them both!!!
What a lucky find! Staying near the airport for a few days, I went for a walk and found this little gem of a place. I booked for dinner that evening and thankfully I did as the restaurant was full. We had wonderful dinner and drinks at the potting shed. Love the setting and the service.
Had a wonderful experience, went with my daughter and we both loved the food. Highly recommend the Potting Shed
Hi Jessica! We are so happy to hear you and your daughter had a wonderful time! Our venue is our pride and joy and was created for others to experience great food, ambience and quality time with loved ones! We hope to see you and your daughter back soon! Warm Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
The food was thoughtful and amazing quality. The service was great, however, one waitress forgot to add dessert to our order and we waited for an extended period of time until we asked about it. Otherwise, it was a pleasant, enjoyable experience.
Hello Marvel, We are so glad you enjoyed your time, food, and service! It is unfortunate the waitress forgot your dessert, but we are pleased to hear the waitress was able to make it up to you and you still enjoyed your time and service. We will be waiting for your return and will make sure you get your dessert in a timely manner next time! Warm Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Everything was delicious... especially enjoyed the cauliflower thingies.
Hi Albert, Thanks for your review, we love the cauliflower thingies (beignets) too! We look forward to seeing you again next time. Warmest wishes, The Potting Shed Team
Good food & service. Too crowded and noisy. A bit pricy. Went for a birthday.
Hi Patricia, Thank you so much for your review! Yes we are a buzzing and full of life venue! We are so delighted you enjoyed your food and service! Hope to see you back soon! Kind Regards, The Potting Shed Team
Great food and service, I have been there over 100 times.
Hi Ian, Thanks for your continued and valued custom, we look forward to seeing you again next time! Warmest wishes, The Potting Shed Team
Love the food and the ambiance. The staff are always very personable and approachable.
Hi Alexandra, Thank you for your kind review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you back again soon! Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
The Potting Shed was outstanding. Noise levels just right to create to create the right atmosphere just. The parrot was great. The service was excellent as was the food. Had our 50th wedding celebration here a few years ago and that was above and beyond. Thank you to "The Grounds". However, I did miss Kevin Bacon.
Hi Bingo, Thank you for leaving this review, it is really appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We miss Kevin too! Warm Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Very nice spot, perfect ambient. The food was quite good, too!
Hi Laura, Thank you very much for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you back again soon! Warm Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
The music and the vibe was great! Good choice of songs. Friendly waiters and waitress. The food was Definitely delicious!
Hi Eve, Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
We had a wonderful birthday lunch for our daughter who turned 5, the staff made a big fuss for her and it was so special xx
Hi Kayla, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are thrilled that your daughter enjoyed her birthday with us! We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
We were all disappointed with the service, having to ask for things several times, waiting too long for drinks, requesting a special meal with no beans only to be given mainly beans ... I could go on. We’ve also had poor service at the Grounds in the city, so poor we don’t go there anymore
Hi Jalee, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you felt disappointed with your experience at the Potting Shed. I'd love to know a little bit more so that I can look into where we went so wrong, please do get in touch. Warm Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Good range of options, but was not as accommodating to our vegan diner, which we found surprising.
Hi there, Thank you very much for your review. I'm sorry you felt as though there weren't as many options for your vegan friend. We do try to cater for as many dietaries and preferences. Thank you very much though as we will definitely pass on your comments to our chefs. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
An oasis and escape - lush gardens and relaxed ambient setting with a dynamic vibe and magnetic charm. Eating and drinking a pleasure for any occasion.
Ambience and setting was lovely! Mixed reviews about the food - Loved the Mussels, however the shell fish curry was a little too messy as all of the seafood was shelled but in curry sauce, which took the enjoyment out of the meal. All other foods looked great
Staff were really friendly and really helpful.
Would recommend this restaurant!
Hi Chloe, Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you back again soon! Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Food was great
Service was EXCELLENT, our waitress was friendly & so helpful. Knew the menu inside out & gave great recommendations
Only thing was the seating was very claustrophobic with people very close even on top of us
Hi Melinda, Thank you so much for this review, it is greatly appreciated. I will definitely pass on your feedback to your waitress, Emma. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
One of my favourite places for a meal. Great ambience, delicious food and friendly service. Would highly recommend.
Hi Joanne, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience. We will be sure to share your feedback with your waitress, Hannah! hope to see you back soon! Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
😊Great setting brilliant service & a real treat❣️
Hi Carol, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit at The Potting Shed. We really value feedback like yours, and will certainly pass your comments on to our team, especially Paige, your server. Looking forward to having you again. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Love this place! Kat is fantastic! Unfortunetly they changed the menu and took away my favourites... Crossing my fingers that they will take the mussles with coconut and the tuna carpaccio back! Still one of the best places in Sydney!!!
Hi Caroline, Thank you very much for your kind review! It was such a pleasure having you back again, thank you for recommending your guests to us as well. We will be sure to pass on your comments about the mussels (they were my favourite too) to our team. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Always a bustling venue and consistent, we enjoyed the ink pasta dish
Hi there! Thank you so much for your review. The Barramundi with squid ink pasta is one of our most popular dishes! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and hope too see you back soon Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
First time dinner experience at The Potting Shed did not disappoint. With the amount of plants around we were really surprised at the lack of bugs all night. The ambience of night dining in a garden was spot on. Food was good. Service was very efficient. Would come back with a larger group to be able to try more food.
Hello Pham, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the plants and the greenery, as that is a very important detail and decor for our venue. We will be sure to let your waitress Libby know about your feedback and will look forward to seeing you soon! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
The atmosphere, food and service we're all absolutely fantastic!
On one of the busiest days of the year (NYE Lunch), our server was efficient, well presented and friendly to deal with which made the days events run smoothly. The special surprise of presenting our mum with her birthday dessert and a special song with fellow staff in tow was a brilliant surpise! (We were all sure to not take the credit! That was all you Potting shed!)
We were all very impressed and look forward to returning to the potting shed again very soon!!!!
Hi Stella, Thank you so much for your review, it is greatly appreciated. I will pass on your lovely comments to your waitress, Caitlin. We are thrilled to hear your lunch with us was so memorable and enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you all again soon! Warm Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
We ordered the share platters as it was limited menu at 4pm. They were so boring and cheaply made. All of the food was cold and not at all plentiful. And things that were boring to eat. There was a lot of food left on them just because it wasn’t yummy food. Like too much pickled vegetables. At $52 each they were the biggest rip off. I have ordered share platters before and got some hot food on them such as meatballs or calamari. There was no hot on this. The cheese was tiny and a weird crumbly sheep’s milk cheese not a favourite for many I would say. Poor choices and cheaply made.
Hi there, Thank you for your honest review. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Shed Platter. At the Potting Shed we use the finest quality products, some of which are exclusively made for our venue such as the cured meats which is a blend that our chefs created. I'm disappointed to hear this did not meet your expectations and I'll be sharing your comments with the rest of the team. We really hope to have you back so we can make it up to you. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Really great food & service. A little expensive but the food is worth it.
Hey Rachel, Thank you so much for your kind review, it is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
I went there for Christmas Eve with my family of 4. the food was amazing like always. But being a busy time of year especially on Christmas Eve I felt there want enough staff, the lady who took our meals had to come back and double check what we ordered. The kids meals came out late, not to mention they totally forget about there desserts. the staff just seemed a little unorganised and were racing around from one table to another.
Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear you felt let down by the service. This year's Christmas Eve was definitely a lot busier than we have experienced in previous years, so I agree that we were understaffed. I am sorry that you felt the impact of that, and would love to make it up to you and your family. Your feedback is very valuable, and has definitely highlighted where we can do better for next time. Hope to see you soon. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
We would like to personally thank Cat who went out of her way to make sure our family Christmas Eve lunch was special after there was an error with the booking system and our original dinner reservation had to be moved. We had wanted to visit the Potting Shed for quite sometime and we were not disappointed. We will definitely be back. Antoinette
Hi Antoinette, Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It was my pleasure to have you and your lovely family at The Potting Shed. I am so pleased that your enjoyed yourselves, and thank you again for your understanding regarding the error. We look forward to having you again! Warmest wishes, Catherine, Venue Manager.
It is very busy around Christmas time, but the food, service, and overall experience was well worth wading through the crowds!!! So many cool novelty touches, for example the cocktails (which look amazing) are presented in bird shaped mugs and flower pots, and there is a real bird that perched on my hand for a photo!
Hi Mary, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We will definitely pass your feedback to your waiter, Acts. We are very pleased to hear you and your guests enjoyed your experience at The Potting Shed. Fluffy sends her regards and hopes to see you and your guests again! Many thanks, Catherine, Venue Manager.
An exciting place to enjoy with friends or family, it’s such a popular venue that the staff try their best to cater to everyone within the allocated time. So, sometimes takes a while for the food to come out, and it doesn’t taste as good as it should.
Hello, Thank you for getting in touch and sharing your experience at The Potting Shed. We thank you for your kind words, and have passed your comments to the related departments. We hope to see you soon, and have an even better visit. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Thank you all so much for an absolutely magical and amazing night. You made my friends birthday quiet special and the cake was delicious! I will be coming back on a regular basis and I can't thank you all enough!
Hi Semir, Thank you so much for your comments, it was such a pleasure looking after you and your guest! We really enjoyed having you here, and we hope to see you both soon! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Its a nice place but service is ridiculously slow. The wait staff are good when they attend to you but to get attention, its a slow wait. 20mins on arrival & we manage to get an order for a first drink order. You might find a wandering waiter but if its not your dedicated waiter, they tell us they will get "our" waiter because its not their section.....?? This process is painful in terms of service.
Hi Karen, Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us about your experience at The Potting Shed. I am so sorry to hear you were let down by the service you received - I would equally be frustrated about not being able to order, regardless of the section. While we prefer the section waiter to take responsibility to look after their own tables, we would hate our guests to be left waiting. Please accept our apologies, and we hope to see you again, so we can make it up to you. Catherine.
Our experience was amazing. Diana our wait staff friendly, efficient and looked after us. The food delicious and well timed. The cocktails Diana recommended superb and food selections excellent. We got free dessert for my husband’s 60th birthday celebration and Diana arranged happy birthday sing a long by staff
Hi Jacqueline, Thank you so much for your beautiful words - we have shared your feedback to Diana, and we are delighted to hear you were well looked after. We really hope to see you all again, and wish you a wonderful Christmas! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
It was a super hot day and although the servers were lovely we didn’t get any drinks until our mains were served - not even water, which when we got it was room temperature and with no ice. Food was great - overall we enjoyed our lunch
Hi Heather, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are so sorry to hear you had a few hiccups within your service, but we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. I have raised your comments to our team, and we hope to improve on this, and we look forward to having you and your guests back. Warmest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Nice food and surrounds. Poor service and lack of attention.
Hi Andrew, Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. I am sorry you were let down by the service you received when you visited The Potting Shed. I would love to discuss with you further where we went so wrong, if you would like to get back in touch. I look forward to hearing from you. Warmest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
When we arrived we were told we would need to be done with our table within and hour and a half. Ironically it took that long just to receive our food. While the food was delicious and the place is beautiful, the wait times to order, receive drinks, receive food, and even to pay was very disappointing. Too many patrons, too few staff. We even had to ask three times just for some water while we were waiting on our order.
Understand you're busy in summer towards Christmas time, but after we arrived we're told they could only give us 1.5 hours. After explaining we're having a Christmas n send off party, they gave us 2 hours, from 6.30PM-8.30PM. The staff were lovely, yet we were asked and rushed to order our food, and got kicked out at 8.30. BUT then we one of our orders never arrived, the spoons we asked for never arrived, as well as the water we asked for. You should've advised the 2 hour limit in your booking system, should have time-slots, or some sort.
Hi Michael, I am sorry to hear about your experience at The Potting Shed. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I believe the 1.5 hour was a complete misunderstanding on our hosts part, however, we do communicate that all bookings have a 2 hour seating in our booking notes. I apologise if this was not made clear. I am also disappointed to hear that you felt the service was slow. I have shared your comments with our team, and we would love to have you back to make up for your experience.
We went to see Santa & a bite to eat afterwards. I booked the table weeks ago. 10 minutes after we were seated we were told we only had the table for an hour and a half. That wouldn’t have been too bad if the service wasn’t so slow. We even had to follow up to see where our drinks were. Table service was very slow, self service would be better if the service isn’t efficient. Left very disappointed
The customer service was great! the first waitress was very considered and patient explaining the menu. The food was good, but my kids' meat was raw. However, once I gave it to the waitress (a new one), she was very kind to change it and bring a new plate. Thanks for the good service.
Hi there, Thank you so much for getting in touch. We are so happy to hear you and your guests enjoyed themselves. I am happy to hear your experience was taken care of when we fell short. We are looking forward to having you and your family back again! Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Beautiful venue. Food was good but our booking was for 6.30pm and two of the main meal options we wanted had already sold out which was very disappointing, especially as the main menu options are already pretty limited. Strange for it to have sold out so early in the evening. Vegetarian Burger was very average and salty. Lamb and shellfish curry were great. Also our dessert took over half an hour to arrive. Overall it was a nice venue and good enough food but the service was slow and the lack of menu items available is the reason I am giving them an average rating.
Hi Melanie, Thanks for reaching out about your experience. We value your honesty and totally understand how frustrating it would have been for the mains of your choice to be unavailable. Due to the overwhelming response from our guests during lunch we ran out of dishes earlier than we had anticipated. We are so sorry you felt let down by the service and will pass on your feedback on to all relevant staff. We hope to see you again for a more enjoyable experience. Thanks, Catherine Venue Manager